Gabby Giffords has been on my Mind

I hope the cockhead, who carried out the Arizona Tragedy, reads this blog post.  Then again, his ability to see this entry would mean that he’s afforded the luxury of the internet from his prison cell.  But, that’s enough text about that ass, don’t Blog Lurkers think?  I mean, that Salvia-smoking man is a ruthless, cold-hearted killer!  The interesting thing is that for all the hate I harbor for that crazy man, I have a solid grounding in empathy too (for his victims).  And, that’s why Gabby Giffords has, perpetually, been on my mind.  I sure do know the pain her loved ones are experiencing.  Those memories are raw, right now.  In fact, during Obama’s unifying eulogy, I found myself crying,  Most of those tears were summoned from the here and now.  But, some were elicited from old wounds.  And I was surprised to be crying at all.  I don’t really cry!  Seriously, I don’t!  But, here I was balling-my-eyes out over an event which gave me the opportunity to revisit past feelings.  It was a therapeutic moment, to say the very least!  But, that’s enough new-aged shit, for now.  The point is that Gabby’s been on my mind.  My heart goes out to her, the other victims, and all of their friends and families.  My sympathy is genuine for the perpetrator’s loved ones.  My prayers are steady.  And I’m grateful that America cares (about the senseless violence, which occurs all too often, in the United States).  Because it leaves me hopeful for better days in this country.  We will heal.  But, most importantly, Gabby Giffords will heal.

“But what we can do, as flawed as we are, is still see God in other people, and do our best to help them find their own grace.  That’s what I strive to do, that’s what I pray to do every day.” – Barack Obama

Leave a comment

Filed under News, Personal, Politics, Quotes

Leave a Reply

