As I Fall Asleep

“Nostalgia is a file that removes the rough edges from the good old days.” – Doug Larson

There is a large pond about 500 feet from my bedroom.  A bunch of ducks live there, year round.  I love keeping my window cracked, at night, so that I can hear them quack, as I fall asleep.  And, even though the body of water is so close to where I live, I haven’t stepped foot onto the property, until yesterday.  Well, because the pond is part of the grounds where I attended high school.  And, I haven’t had much desire to visit that place since I graduated in the 1980’s.  But, on St. Patrick’s Day, I walked my dog around the water.  It was 67 degrees.  The ground was soggy from many heavy March rains.  And, every time my feet squished into the mud, the sound brought back memories of jogging around it for gym class.  Now, my dog was quite interested in the ducks.  They hung out on an island full of pine trees, smack dab in the middle of the pond.  He barked at them.  I could see that he contemplated jumping into the water.  But, I wouldn’t give him the nod.  So, he just kept sniffing for a “land trail” to the ducks.  We made it all the way around the water, and my Boglen Terrier grew frustrated.  He just couldn’t get to the ducks.  As we headed back home, we ran into other dog walkers, and a herd of joggers from the high school baseball team.  I just don’t know why I waited so long to visit that old pond.  I already want to go back.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bel Air, Quotes

Leave a Reply

