The Second Royal Wedding In My Lifetime

"The biggest disease this day and age is that of people feeling unloved." - Lady Diana

July 29, 1981.  I remember it almost as if it were yesterday.  It was a time long before VCR’s were common.  They were too expensive (around $500) to own more than one.  So, since we were in Ocean City, on vacation, we did not have one of those expensive devices at the condo.  And lugging the one we had, from back home, was not practical.  I mean, it weighed about 20 pounds, back then, and had endless wires to get the thing connected.  So, my Aunt and I got up at the crack of dawn to watch Prince Charles and Lady Di get married.  We made a fun morning of it.  Watched the sunrise.  Made some coffee and breakfast.  It was a beautiful wedding.  I just can’t believe that no one in my family suspected that I was gay.  Seriously, a 13-year-old boy getting up to watch a royal wedding?!  My 14-year-old sister had no interest in that sort of thing!  But, it was best that they were ignorant.  For, I wasn’t in a good place to disclose that sort of thing.  At any rate, Blog Lurkers might think this entry is completely random!  Well, unless one is living under a rock, it’s hard not to be bombarded by the media blitz over the upcoming Royal Wedding.  It’s just hard to believe that 30 years have passed, since I watched Prince Charles tie the knot, AND that Lady Di’s son, William, will be marrying Kate Middleton!  I have no desire to wake up at 4 to watch the festivities.  Hell!  There’s no reason to be doing that!  These days, we have the internet.  I can watch the whole thing, from beginning to end, at my own leisure.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gay, News, Ocean City, Quotes, Technology

Leave a Reply

