Lincoln High

8/24/93 – 8/13/11

The goal of this blog is to write about my life in the most humorous way (possible).  But, sometimes sad things happen.  And trying to make it into something funny would be inappropriate.  Case-in-point is yesterday, when I was checking updates on Facebook.  I came across a photo where one of my friends was tagged in it.  When I clicked on the picture, to get a closer look, there was a long comment which I read.  I found myself scratching my head.  Because the comment gave the impression that my friend was dead.  “DeadThat’s not possibleI just saw him the day before!”  So I went to his profile page.  To my horror, I found update after update where people were expressing their condolences.  Well, I guess denial set in.  Because I thought it was all a hoax.  I was positive that someone had implied that he’d died, in a funny way (then others made assumptions), and that his death had gone viral.  So, I started texting people.  Well, within 15 minutes, it became clear that he was deceased.  I became angry, thinking to myself, “I don’t like losing a friend, and finding out about it by way of some anonymous person (tagging a picture), which shows up on my wall on Facebook.”  But, within an hour of learning about his death, a tribute page popped up, and it redeemed my faith in social networking.  Ever since that page had been created, I’ve been glancing at the things people have been saying, and it’s beautiful (incredibly fitting words, of praise, for truly the most mature 17-year-old I’ve ever known).  At any rate, I don’t know what else to say.  I’m just overwhelmed with sadness over his death.  But, readers should take a moment and read his tribute page.  I’ve never known someone, so young, who was completely comfortable in his own skin.  I guess that’s what made him so special, and why so many people are flocking to his page?  RIP, Lincoln High.  Your memory lives on, every time we think about you, and through the beautiful words being shared by people from all over the world (on Facebook).  By the way, I still have your ‘Good Morning‘ text (and I will never delete it)!

 Viewing:  2p – 4p and 6p – 8p, Friday, August 19th.

Funeral:  11a, Saturday, August 20th.

Mountain Christian Church

1824 Mountain Road
Joppa, MD 21085

4 Comments

Filed under Bel Air, Obituary, Technology

4 responses to “Lincoln High

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your friend. Sounds like he touched a lot of lives during his too-short time among us.

    Like

  2. Richard High

    RIP Lincoln High

    Like

  3. jesse Newman

    I,am sadden to hear that Lincoln has died. I,had great memories of him ,when he and his family lived in kansas City. I,loved to tease him, he was really a great kid. I, will miss him since he was like family to me Jesse Newman

    Like

    • Jesse, we teased him in Maryland, too. He was always upbeat, which we were constantly ragging on him for being that way. It just seemed impossible that someone could be perpetually happy! I still can’t believe it! All’s he talked about, last week, was how excited he was to go on that retreat. Never, in a million years, did I think he’d die there, while hiking.

      Like

Leave a Reply

