When It Comes To Grieving, I Do Best When I’m Helping Others

The rainbow, which appeared at the viewing (after Friday’s storm).

About 5 years ago, I became so bogged down with cancer, that I took a 6 month break from the online world.  I just didn’t have the interest or energy to keep in touch with anyone, by way of social networking, or blogging.  During that hiatus, someone (and to this day, I’m not clear who that person was), alerted the online world that I had passed away.  Updates and blog entries circulated the net for weeks and months after that.  By the time I reconnected with everyone, I found myself expending huge amounts of energy and time, trying to get-the-word-out, that I wasn’t deceased.  Most people were relieved, and moved on.  Some folks (all online people, with whom I’ve never been acquainted, offline) became angry, and started writing blog entries, calling me things like, “an attention-seeking, pathological liar.”  And to this very day, I run into people that I haven’t seen in years, saying to me, “I thought you were dead, but I’m glad you’re not!”  At any rate, I’m sharing my past drama because when Lincoln died, in my heart-of-hearts, I was hoping that he had also been misrepresented as dead.  But, unfortunately, he is gone.  And, I’ve never been prouder of Bel Air.  Because 8 eateries (Famous Dave’s, Fridays, Chilis, Looney’s Pub, Red Lobster, Chick-fil-A, Red Robin, and P.F. Changs) donated their food/resources, so that we could host a feast for hundreds, in the church’s banquet hall.  We had every intention of getting everything set up, then attending the funeral.  However, we had so much to do (and wanted everything to be perfect) that we didn’t finish until shortly before the service ended.  It was all good, though.  Because, when it comes to grieving, I do best when I’m helping others.  Well, I could write for hours about all of the events which transpired, to honor Lincoln High.  But, one woman summarized it best, on Lincoln’s tribute page, “Still thinking about the service yesterday and what powerful messages we received through Lincoln Live each dayDon’t put off thingsDon’t forget to hug peopleKeep family and friends closeDon’t be afraid to challenge yourself to be betterAim High!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Bel Air, Obituary, Personal, Quotes

Leave a Reply

