Charm City Drag Wars, #2

One of the two winners from Charm City Drag Wars, Episode 2.

Kit Von D Valentine, one of the two winners from Charm City Drag Wars, Episode 2.

I just got home from episode #2 of the Charm City Drag Wars.  Like the 1st episode, the festivities were held at Universal Nightlife & Entertainment in Overlea, Maryland.  The number of folks who attended was at least double the crowd which I saw at the last Drag War.  That means that word is getting out on the street as to how awesome these events are.  I mean, it’s a perfect recipe for fun (when one considers the homemade food, dreamy bartenders, friendly DJ, talented performers, audience full of eye candy, free parking, brilliant judges, and kick-ass host).  Plus, proceeds are donated to a local charity (this time, money was raised for Stormy Vain to do the AIDS walk).  Well, don’t pout if you missed this fabulous event.  Just be proactive.  Mark your calendar, and make yourself available for episode 3 (October 25th).  Hell, make it easy on yourself.  Simply like the Facebook group page and stay updated on all of the events at Universal.

Honestly, the highlight of my night was the people who sat around me during the show.  Josuf, a 20-something gay man is the son of one of my buddies from my childhood.  Tracey, is Josuf's Aunt, and is also a buddy from childhood.  They heard me raving about the 1st episode of Charm City Drag Wars, and decided to surprise me tonight.  I was ecstatic.

The highlight of my night was the people who sat around me.  Josuf, a 20-something gay man, is the son of one of my childhood buddies.  Tracey is Josuf”s Aunt, and is also a buddy from childhood.  They heard me raving, on Facebook, about the 1st episode of Charm City Drag Wars, and decided to surprise me tonight.  I was ecstatic.

Anyhow, the people who sat around me at tonight’s show caused me to have a flashback to an earlier time.  When I got home, I even pulled out my journal so that I could accurately talk about this gem of a memory from the early 80’s:

“During the Winter holiday of 1982, I was in Pennsylvania (hanging with Joe, Brian, Tracey, Linda, Lisa, my sister Barb, and Richard). We spent most of that break in the basement playing various instruments and singing different rock and country songs.  And many times, over that break, our basement jam sessions turned into parties.  There were times when at least 75 people would be roaming around the house, most of us drinking, and many of us playing instruments and singing.  Then, all of a sudden, this new song (“Shame on the Moon”) aired on the radio.  We were all mesmerized.  Bob Seger, who is one of my all-time favorite garage band & roots rock artists, released (what I think is) one of the most beautiful songs ever recorded; and it became one of 1983’s biggest hits.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Baltimore, Gay, Maryland, Music, Shout-Out

Leave a Reply

