Mr. Woods Leather 2014

southampton middle schoolSometimes when I write a post, a reader will email me, asking, “how do you remember things in such great detail from 30 years ago?”  Well, it is easy.  Because I have kept a journal since 1975.  So, when I look back on September of 1980, I know that my three most favorite songs were:  Don’t Stand So Close To Me, Paranoid, and Upside Down.  I also know that the two guys I hung with the most, at Southampton Middle School, were Mark Tokach and Jim Bennett.  I giggle when I read in my journal that Jim Bennett and I were picked by our 7th grade Home Economics teacher as the best cooks in the class.  She actually chose Jim and I to teach the other students.  Now, I don’t know how good of a cook Jim is these days, but a person would most likely die from food poisoning if I cooked for them.

Jim Bennett, Mr. Woods Leather

Jim Bennett, Mr. Woods Leather 2014 at The Woods Campground.

The great thing about the new millenium is that we have Facebook.  Through that social network, I have been able to reconnect with Mark Tokach and Jim Bennett.  As of right now, Jim is Mr. Woods Leather 2014.  And he is committed to his title.  I mean, he is fundraising to finance renovations to different parts of The Woods Campground (like the pavillion, bar, and dungeon).  Some of my readers may be asking themselves, “What the hell is The Woods Campground?  Well, this is how their website describes it:

The Woods Campground

By the way, The Woods Campground is a proud sponsor of Bears, Bikers & Mayhem.

By the way, The Woods Campground is a proud sponsor of Bears, Bikers & Mayhem.

Now, I’ve never been to The Woods Campground, but I’d like to go there in 2014.  I just hope that I can convince some of my buds to go, too.  I truly am a bashful guy.  And being around a bunch of foreign bears in the woods just might be a little too much for this skinny, white boy.  Then again, I have made progress in the shyness department.  I no longer have an issue with going to a bar by myself; and that took me a long, long time to reach that point.  Regardless, it would be cool to go with some folks that I know.  Anyhow, if you’re gay and love the outdoors, you should look into The Woods Campground.  What do you have to lose (except for maybe your clothes)?

Leave a comment

Filed under Gay, Music, Shout-Out

Leave a Reply

